Top Menu

Economic Development

The Alleghany Highlands Economic Development Corporation markets the region to relocating and expanding businesses. The following are represented on the Corporation Board of Directors: County of Alleghany, City of Covington, Towns of Clifton Forge and Iron Gate, large businesses, Dabney S. Lancaster Community College (DSLCC), Chamber of Commerce, organized labor, Alleghany Foundation, and a citizen representative. Offices are located at the DSLCC campus.

Please visit the AHEDC website at

The AHEDC office can be reached by calling Terri McClung at (540) 862-0936.  The mailing address is 9212 Winterberry Avenue, Covington, VA 24426.  The fax number is (540) 862-0937 and the email address is .


The Alleghany Highlands has the Enterprise Zone Designation for specific areas in the region for commercial and industrial development.  Special state and local financial incentives are available to qualifying businesses and industries.  An Enterprise Zone application can be obtained by contacting the AHEDC.  A map of the designated areas can be found at this link Enterprise Zone Map.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email