At an adjourned meeting of the Board of Supervisors, Alleghany County, Virginia held on Tuesday, February 2, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. in the Alleghany County Governmental Complex, Covington, Virginia, thereof:

PRESENT: G. Matt Garten, Chairman

James M. Griffith, Vice-Chairman

Stephen A. Bennett Shannon P. Cox Cletus W. Nicely Richard Lee Shull M. Joan Vannorsdall

and Jonathan A. Lanford, County Administrator

Suzanne T. Adcock, Director of Finance

Jim Guynn, County Attorney

Melissa A. Munsey, Deputy Clerk to the Board

## **CALL TO ORDER:**

The Chairman called the adjourned meeting to order. He stated that there are three applicants for the vacancy on the Board of Supervisors for the Clifton Forge West District (Gregory Dodd, Courtney Howard, and Diana Smith). He stated that the candidates will be interviewed individually during the Closed Meeting.

## **CLOSED MEETING:**

On motion of Mr. Griffith, seconded by Mr. Nicely, that the Board go into a Closed Meeting under <u>Code of Virginia</u> Section 2.2-3711(A)(1) for the purpose of: (1) hold interviews with candidates for the Clifton Forge West District Board of Supervisor vacancy. Unanimously adopted.

On motion of Mr. Griffith, seconded by Mr. Bennett, that the Board come out of the Closed Meeting with the following certification:

## CERTIFICATION SECTION 2.2-3712

To the best of our knowledge (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the session.

| /s/G. Matt Garten      | Yes |
|------------------------|-----|
| /s/Shannon P. Cox      | Yes |
| /s/M. Joan Vannorsdall | Yes |
| /s/Stephen A. Bennett  | Yes |
| /s/James M. Griffith   | Yes |
| /s/Cletus W. Nicely    | Yes |

## **ADJOURNMENT**:

| On motion of Ms. Vannorsdall, seconded by | y Mr. Griffith | , that the meeting | g be ad | journed at 6:35 | p.m. | Motion carried. |
|---|----------------|--------------------|---------|-----------------|------|-----------------|
|   |                |                    |         |                 |      |                 |

G. Matt Garten Chairman